What Are The 8 Stages Of?

What are the 8 stages of life according to Erikson?

Erikson’s eight stages of psychosocial development include trust vs.

mistrust, autonomy vs.

shame/doubt, initiative vs.

guilt, industry vs.

inferiority, identity vs.

role confusion, intimacy vs.

isolation, generativity vs.

stagnation, and integrity vs.


What are the 7 stages of development?

7 Stages of Development. Assignment 2: Human Development There are seven stages a human moves through during his or her life span. These stages include infancy, early childhood, middle childhood, adolescence, early adulthood, middle adulthood and old age.17 Apr 2014

What is Erikson’s first stage of adulthood?

Psychosocial Stage 1 – Trust vs. Mistrust

The first stage of Erikson’s theory of psychosocial development occurs between birth and one year of age and is the most fundamental stage in life. Because an infant is utterly dependent, developing trust is based on the dependability and quality of the child’s caregivers.5 Sep 2019

Why is Erik Erikson Theory important?

Erik Erikson’s Theory: Erik Erikson was a famous psychoanalyst who studied human development. His curiosity in how we develop self-awareness and a sense of identity was born from his own childhood experiences.

What are the 7 stages in life?

According to Jaques’ monologue the seven ages of man are:

  • Stage 1, Infancy: A helpless baby, just crying and throwing up.
  • Stage 2, Schoolboy:
  • Stage 3, Teenager:
  • Stage 4, Young man:
  • Stage 5, Middle aged:
  • Stage 6, Old man:
  • Stage 7, Dotage and death:

What are the 12 stages of life?

The major stages of the human life cycle include pregnancy, infancy, the toddler years, childhood, puberty, older adolescence, adulthood, middle age, and the senior years.

What are the 10 stages of human development?

Developmentalists break the life span into nine stages as follows:

  1. Prenatal Development.
  2. Infancy and Toddlerhood.
  3. Early Childhood.
  4. Middle Childhood.
  5. Adolescence.
  6. Early Adulthood.
  7. Middle Adulthood.
  8. Late Adulthood.

What are the 5 stages of human development?

The following are the stages of development:

  • Infancy: This period extends from birth to 18 months of age.
  • Early childhood: This stage ranges from 18 months to 3 years.
  • Middle childhood: This stage extends from 3-5 years.
  • Late childhood:
  • Adolescence:
  • Early adulthood:
  • Mature adulthood:
  • Old age:

What are the 3 stages of adolescence?

The 3 Stages of Adolescence: Early, Middle, and Late

As we mentioned previously, adolescence is broken down into three stages that make up the age period between 10-21. During each stage, varying levels of physical, intellectual, emotional, and social development begin to take place.18 Nov 2018

How is personality developed?

Personality is formed by the ongoing interaction of temperament, character, and environment. Socialization —The process by which new members of a social group are integrated in the group. Temperament —A person’s natural disposition or inborn combination of mental and emotional traits.

What is trust vs mistrust?

Trust vs. mistrust is the first stage in Erik Erikson’s theory of psychosocial development. This stage begins at birth and lasts through one year of age. Infants learn to trust that their caregivers will meet their basic needs. If these needs are not consistently met, mistrust, suspicion, and anxiety may develop.

What are the 4 stages of identity development?

The psychologist James Marcia suggested that there are four identity statuses, or stages, in developing who we are as individuals. These stages are achievement, moratorium, foreclosure, and diffusion.

What is Erik Erikson best known for?

Erik Homburger Erikson (born Erik Salomonsen; 15 June 1902 – 12 May 1994) was a German-American developmental psychologist and psychoanalyst known for his theory on psychological development of human beings. He may be most famous for coining the phrase identity crisis.

What is Erik Erikson theory?

Erik Erikson in the 1950s and 1960s proposed a psychoanalytic theory of psychosocial development comprising eight stages from infancy to adulthood. During each stage, the person experiences a psychosocial crisis which could have a positive or negative outcome for personality development.

How did Erik Erikson die?